
EXCLUSION KEYCARD BLACKWOOD 
AFTER MAJOR SUIT AGREEMENT 

  
(There may be a few minor suit auctions where you may want to add it, but you should 
only do so with a very regular partner after you have played it for awhile.) 
 
Slam hands with void suits are often hard to handle.  Using Blackwood is wrong in most 
cases.  If you use RKCB holding two Key Cards plus a void suit and partner shows one, 
you now have to guess which it is. 
 
There are several ways to go with void suits.  The most common is cue bidding which 
may lead to a Blackwood sequence.  However, it is dangerous to cue bid a void early, 
because partner may think that the king or king-queen of your void suit is golden and go 
ballistic. 
 
A better way to resolve this dilemma is to use EXCLUSION KEYCARD BLACKWOOD 
(EKB) whereby you ask partner for keycards OUTSIDE of the void suit.  EKB is a jump 
over game in an unbid suit or in a suit bid by the opponents, usually after trump suit 
agreement.  Partner does NOT count the ace of the jump suit in the response.  Most 
people play 0314 responses: 
 

1st   step 0 or 3 
2nd step 1 or 4  (though 4 would be rare, meaning you asked with none!) 
3rd  step 2 without the trump queen 
4th  step 2 with the trump queen 

 
After the key card response, the cheapest bid other than five of the trump suit asks for 
the trump queen. Then the next the cheapest bid other than trump suit seeks specific 
kings. 
 
Some people play RKCB 1430 and use those responses to EKB but that will often but 
you too high. Say your trump suit is spades and you jump to 5♥ (EKB).  A 1430 
response of 5NT with zero key cards puts you past five of your major.  The idea here is 
that the most troublesome response is likely to be zero so make that the first step.  The 
problems get worse when hearts is your trump suit.  Of course playing different 
responses might cause a memory accident. 
 
A simple example before we get to 
some sticky stuff:  The bidding might 
go: 

    West       East  
2♣  2♦     (1)  
2♠  4♣    (2)    
5♥  (3)  5NT  (4)  
7♠  (5)   Pass  

  

   
   ♠ A K Q x x x
   ♥  -- 
   ♦ K x 
   ♣ A K Q x x 
 

 

 N   
W  E 
 S   

  
 ♠ x x x x 
 ♥ K x x x 
 ♦ A x x x 
 ♣ x 
 



 
(1) Waiting 
(2) Splinter 
(3) Exclusion 
(4) 1 Keycard outside of hearts (must be the Diamond Ace) 
(5) Bingo! 

 
 
Another example, this one taken from the 6th World Junior Bridge Team Championship:  

 
The bidding went this way. 

  
   
 
 
 
 
 

South’s jump beyond game accepted spades as 
trump suit and asked the number of key cards, 
excluding the ♦A. North showed two keycards without 
trump queen: 
 

 
 
 

Is It EKB, or Is It Not? 
 
Each partnership must decide for itself which bids are EKB. However, if your 
partnership hasn’t specifically agreed on an instance when Exclusion might apply, 
presume it’s not Exclusion until discussed, as a misunderstanding could be 
catastrophic.  
 
The simplest rule is to play certain jumps to 4♠ as well as all jumps to the five level, 
once you have agreed upon a major. You and partner must know how EKB works with 
the other conventions you play. 
 
JACOBY and EXCLUSION - Most pairs would play jumps beyond the trump suit starting 
with 4 ♠ over hearts. 
 
TEXAS and EXCLUSION.- Some  partnerships use a new suit as Exclusion . Unless 
agreed otherwise, assume it’s a cue bid. 
 
 
 
 

 ♠ A K 10 7 
 ♥ J 3 
 ♦ J 9 6 5 
 ♣ J 3 2 

 N   
W  E 
 S    

 ♠  J 6 5 3 
 ♥  A K Q 9 7 6 4 
 ♦  -- 
 ♣  A 9 

North     South 
          1♥      
1♠ 5♦      
5NT 6♠      
Pass 



Try these auctions: 
 

1. 
 

1♥ 3♣ 
5♦  5♥ 

 

3♣ is a Bergen Raise.  Hearts are agreed as trumps and 5♦ 
is clearly EKB.  5♥ shows 0 or 3.  Note that 1430 responses 
would put you past 5♥. 
 

2. 1♣ 1♥ 
3♥ 5♦ 
5N 

Opener's third step shows 2 Key Cards outside the Diamond 
suit (responder's void suit) and no Queen of trumps. 
 

3. 1NT 2♦  
2♥ 4♠ 

2♦ is a Transfer and 2♥ is a normal acceptance.  4♠ is best 
treated as Exclusion.  3♠ would be a spade splinter or, if you 
prefer, an undisclosed splinter.  If you wanted to cue bid 
spades, transfer at the four level (Texas) and then bid 4♠. 
 
If you play Kickback, whereby 4♠ would be Key Card Asking 
for hearts, you’ll need another way to EKB. 
 

4. 2♣ 2♦ 
2♥ 3♥ 
5♣ 5♦ 
5♠ 

5♣ is EKB and Responder presumably zero key cards.  
Opener nevertheless moves forward, bidding past game.  
The cheapest bid outside the trump suit, 5♠ in this case, is 
asking for the ♠Q. 
 

5. 1♠ 2♥ 
5♦ 5♥ 

Responder's first step shows 0 Key Cards outside the 
Diamond suit (opener's void suit) 
 

6. 1♥ 3♥ 
4♠ 5♣ 

Opener's jump to 4♠ initiates Exclusion Blackwood with a 
Spade void.  Responder's second step shows 1 Key Card 
outside the Spade suit. 
 

7. 1♣ 3♣ 
4♥ 5♣ 

 

Some might play this as Exclusion but I would play 4♥ as a 
splinter. You’re more likely to have a singleton so I would not 
play it as EKB. Most jumps below game are best used for 
splinters.   
 
What’s of paramount importance you are partner agree.  
You’re in trouble if partner is signing off and you think she is 
showing two Key Cards without the trump queen. 
 

8. 1♣ 1♦ 
2♥ 3♣ 
4♠ 5♣ 

Some might play this as Exclusion but I prefer 4♠ to be a 
splinter.  
 

 

What is most important is that your partnership knows what is and isn’t EKB.  You 
must discuss with partner how your other conventions fit with EKB.  



Blackwood bidders learn early that they must be prepared for any response.  You can’t 
use Blackwood if partner’s bid will put you past five of your suit missing more a key 
card and the trump queen or two key cards.  This is particularly true for EKB, 
especially if you use it for minors. 

The simple definition above as to what bids are EKB 
assumed the trump suit is known.  RKCB users know that 
sometimes the jump to 4NT confirms the last bid suit as 
the key card suit.  This works just as well for exclusion.  
Here is how the bidding might go for this hand.  North’s 
powerhouse gets even better when partner bids 2♥.  The 

leap to 5♦ confirms hearts as 
trumps and asks for key cards.  
South shows none anc North 
reluctantly settles in 5♥. 

  
 
 

 
When An Exclusion Ask Is Doubled 

 
When an EKB ask is doubled, you now have TWO extra bids available, pass and 
redouble.   There are at least three ways to proceed. 

• You could use the principles of DOPI/ROPI.  Redouble is the 1st step, Pass the 
2nd, the first bid up is the 3rd, etc.)  

 
• Since there are only 4 key cards and two extra bids, you might show each. It 

works like this: Pass = 0.   Redouble.= 1.  The next bid up = 2, and so forth.  In 
the example sequence redouble to show "1" and opener bids 6♠.  If had you “0”, 
you would have passed and opener would sign off at  5♠.   

 
• The one I prefer is to just ignore the double and make the same responses you 

would have had RHO kept quiet.  One less thing to remember. 
 
  

Examples 
 

You bid 5♣, showing a void in clubs and 
asking for aces.  Partner will not count the 
ace of clubs in his reply.  He will bid 5♦ with 
no key cards and you will pass.  If partner 
bids 5♥ showing one key card (♥A or ♦A) 

you’ll bid 6♦.  A 5♠ response would show both two working aces (without the queen but 
that’s not an issue here) and you’ll bid the grand. 
 

♠ A K x x x x  
♥ A J x x   
♦  -- 
♣ K Q x  

 N   
W  E 
 S    

♠   -- 
♥ Q x x x x  
♦ A K Q x x  
♣ J x x 

North    South 
  1♠      2♥ 
  5♦      5♥ 
Pass 

♠ A 
♥ K x x x x x x 
♦ K Q J x x 
♣  --  

Pard You 
  1♦  1♥ 
  2♦  5♣ 

♠ A 
♥ K x x x x x x 
♦ K Q J x x 
♣  --  

Pard You 
  1♦  1♥ 
  2♦  5♣ 



 
 
As above you’ll play 5♥ if partner shows 
none, 6♥ if one and 7♥ if two. 
 

 
 

 
Note that 5♣ here is only a single jump but 
it nevertheless EKB.  While EKB is usually 
launched with a double jump, that is not a 
requirement.  A jump to the five level (or to 
4♠) is the key. 

 
One final idea.  For many partnerships, if a player splinters and receives no 
encouragement, he may continue with 4NT as exclusion Blackwood, indicating the 
splinter was based on a void and that is the excluded suit.  I like this and it has won 
several hands for me. 
 
 

You open 1 ♥ and partner raises to 2 ♥. You 
can’t bid 5♦ because if partner has only one 
key card, the 5♠ response will get you too 
high.  Better to bid 4♦ and then when 
partner bids 4♥, you can bid 4NT.  Now you 

can handle any response.  
 
Or this hand.  After 1S - 4D; 4S - 4NT shows a heart void and asking for EKB 
responses.  

 
You could bid a direct 5♦ for EKB but this 
saves steps. You can find out about the aces 
as well as the ♠Q, all below 5♠. 
 
Note that tt makes no sense to splinter with a 

singleton and then bid RKCB.  If you plan to ask anyway, partner can’t use the 
information as Teller and you only give the opponents information (and a chance for a 
lead directing double in another suit, a common treatment among better players). 

 

♠ K x x x 
♥ K Q x  
♦  -- 
♣ A K Q J x x  

Pard You 
 1♠       4♦ 
 4♠       4N 

♠ A K x 
♥ A x x x x 
♦ K Q J x x 
♣  --  

Pard You 
  1♦  1♥ 
  2♥  5♣ 

♠ K x 
♥ K Q x x x x 
♦ K Q J x x 
♣  --  

You     Pard 
 1♥        1♠ 
 2♦        3♥ 
 5♣ 

♠ K Q J  x  
♥ A Q x x x x x 
♦  -- 
♣ K x  

You   Pard 
 1♥       2♥ 
 ?? 


